TREETREE

LONDON PLANE TREES

HIGHBURY FIELDS TREES

NATIVE TREES

NON-NATIVE TREES

TREE POLICY

TREE CARE

MISSING TREES

TREES & BUILDINGS

TREES IN OLD BUILDINGS

BOOKS & DOCUMENTS

LINKS & CONTACT

NEWS

TreetreeTREE

Links and Contact

 

TreeTree was created by Robin Hull. He is a volunteer Tree Warden and a Committee member of the Highbury Community Association, www.highburycommunity.org, and a member of the Highbury Fields Association, www.highburyfieldsassociation.org. Both amenity groups have a strong interest in local trees.

 

For the photographs on this site I have used two cameras, with just a very few exceptions where historic photos were needed: a Fujifilm FinePix F50fd compact and, more recently, a Canon EOS 60D DSLR with EF24-105mm f/4L IS USM and EF-S10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM lenses.

 

I don't think there is any photograph on my site that I have not manipulated to some extent in Photoshop or Lightroom, but only in rare cases has it seemed necessary to go beyond the reasonable digital adjustment necessary to convey the experience I had in looking at the trees. The camera always lies – and it is necessary to recall the moment to make an image that expresses the experience or the idea it gave rise to; I have tried not to add hype but to show trees as sufficient in themselves.

 

An electronic guide to tree identification is available as a free and easy-to-use app for iPad and iPhone. Leafsnap uses visual recognition software to help identify tree species from photographs of their leaves. A fuller description is available from leafsnap.com.

 

Two internet collections of photographs and details of trees are Monumental Trees and the ancient trees shown in many collections at flickriver.

 

The most complete survey of London planes and Oriental planes has been undertaken by I M Chengappa whose website www.aranya.co.uk/planes covers botany, usage, cultivation and identification. Mr Chengappa has been a great support in assisting me to develop my own interest in plane trees.

 

Tree wardens maintaining websites. This list below will grow!

 

The Brockley Society Tree Wardens

 

There are many organisations concerned with trees. The following list contains some of the foremost.

 

Ancient Yew Group, www.ancient-yew.org

 

ArborEcology Ltd., www.arborecology.co.uk

 

Arboricultural Association, www.trees.org.uk

 

Forest Research, www.forestresearch.gov.uk

 

The London Tree Officers Association, www.ltoa.org.uk

 

The Tree Council, www.treecouncil.org.uk

 

The Tree Register, www.treeregister.org

 

Trees and Design Action Group, www.tdag.org.uk

 

Trees for Cities, www.treesforcities.org

 

Treework Environmental Practice, www.treeworks.co.uk

 

Woodland Trust, www.woodlandtrust.org.uk

 

 

 

Contact

 

This website is developed by Robin Hull, info@treetree.co.uk. Feedback is welcome and helpful.

 

All content unless otherwise indicated is Copyright of Robin Hull 2011.